close

Ian Springford
Director

Ian founded Ian Springford Architects in 2000 before the company changed its name to ISA in 2016.

He graduated from Edinburgh College of Art and worked for several Edinburgh architectural practices on a broad range of building types before establishing his own practice. He is responsible for overseeing all aspects of the business and is involved in every project in the office.

Ian has significant experience in the hotel sector where he is also Chairman of Apex Hotels, a chain of independent 4 star hotels in the UK. He has also lectured at Napier University and University of Edinburgh.

ian.springford@isarchitects.co.uk
www.linkedin.com/in/ianspringford

close

John Thompson
Director

John established the practice with Ian Springford in early 2000 and has led many of our hotel projects across the UK.

John attended the Scott Sutherland School of Architecture in Aberdeen and has worked in London, Berlin and Edinburgh. He has extensive experience in architectural design, project management, technical delivery and leading multi-disciplinary Design Teams on a broad mix of project sectors including residential, further education, healthcare and commercial office buildings.

john.thompson@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Kerry Nicol
Director

Educated at Scott Sutherland School of Architecture (RGU) in Aberdeen, Kerry joined ISA in 2001, becoming an Associate in 2006 and Director in 2015.

Kerry has experience across a broad range of sectors, from Hotel to commercial, but has recently focussed her attention and expertise on helping the practice deliver a number of large scale residential projects throughout the UK. Her rigorous approach to detailing and design has resulted in a lot of repeat business, with notable commissions for complicated, multi stakeholder sites in central London.

She is central to the ongoing development of the practice and implementation of ISA’s design management principles.

kerry.nicol@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Graham Currie
Director

Graham initially joined ISA in 2002 and was made a Director in 2015.

Graduating from Edinburgh College of Art, after spells in Australia and Sweden, Graham is an experienced and dedicated design professional with a particular expertise in the hotel and leisure sectors.

Graham has a particular track record in converting existing buildings and has detailed knowledge of the construction, procurement, operational and risk management issues particular to this process. He is heavily involved in the implementation and maintenance of the office QA and CAD systems and brings a positive and proactive approach to his projects.

graham.currie@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Fiona McNeill
Associate

After completing a diploma in Advanced Architectural Studies at Aberdeen Fiona worked in a number of practices in UK, Paris and Berlin on a wide range of high profile, award winning projects such as the new Scottish Parliament Building in Edinburgh, involved at every stage of the design process from inception to completion.

Fiona joined ISA in2006 and as an Associate and has since worked in key roles on a number of project. Fiona has developed an expertise in environmentally responsive design and has practical experience of building energy efficient buildings. She has been awarded the RIAS Accreditation in Sustainable Architecture in recognition of her specialism in this field.

fiona.mcneill@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Calum McLeod
Associate

Calum has been with ISA since September 2014.

He studied at Edinburgh College of Art, graduating in 1994 before going on to work with several large firms in Edinburgh and Glasgow. He has gained extensive experience across several sectors including commercial, education, transport and civic buildings and has worked on a wide variety of projects from small scale refurbishments to large award winning civic buildings. Calum has considerable experience working on master planning and urban design projects for public and private sector organisations.

Calum is currently working on a new hotel project in the centre of Bath.

calum.mcleod@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Emma Franks
Head of Interior Designer

Emma has been working as Senior Interior Designer at ISA since 2007.

She graduated from Glasgow School of Art in Interior Design and has worked in London and Amsterdam, as well as 10 years in Edinburgh for a number of well known architectural and design practices. She oversees and is responsible for the interior design aspects of all projects within the office.

Her experience covers a broad range of projects ranging from Retail and Corporate design through to Leisure and the Hotel industry and includes significant experience on the Scottish Parliament. She has also lectured at Glasgow School of Art.

emma.franks@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Anthony Hemmings
Associate

Anthony joined the practice in 2006 after graduating from Edinburgh College of Art. He has worked on a wide range of projects including hotels, offices, refurbishments and new build. As Senior Architect he brings an enthusiasm for good design and a high level of technical expertise to his work.

In recent years his focus within the practice has been on residential projects, acting as project architect on Magdalene drive, Balmwell Terrace and Brunswick Road.

anthony.hemmings@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Andrew Guthrie
Associate

Andrew joined Ian Springford Architects in 2004 after graduating from Edinburgh College of Art.

He has experience of a broad range of project types, including hotel, residential, office, theatre and healthcare, and has worked on a number of award winning projects.

Andrew became a Senior Designer in 2015.

andrew.guthrie@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Christine Leeman
Architect

christine.leeman@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Shona Porteous
Architect

shona.porteous@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Bradley Slaughter
Architect

bradley.slaughter@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Alejandro Chirino
Architect

alejandro.chirino@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Joanne Potter
Architect

joanne.potter@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Liam Potts
Architect

liam.potts@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Ryan Orr
Graduate Architect

ryan.orr@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Jessica Orr
Graduate Architect

jessica.orr@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Robert Paton
Architect

rob.paton@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Isabella Rosander
Graduate Architect

isabella.rosander@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Guerly Tabares
Architect

guerly.tabares@isarchitects.co.uk