close

Ian Springford
Director

Ian founded Ian Springford Architects in 2000 before changing the company name to ISA in 2016. He graduated from Edinburgh College of Art and worked for several Edinburgh architectural firms on a broad range of building types before establishing his own practice. He is responsible for overseeing all aspects of the business and is involved in every project in the office.

Ian has significant experience in the hotel sector where he is Chairman of Apex Hotels, a chain of independent 4 star hotels in the UK. He has also lectured at Napier University and The University of Edinburgh.

ian.springford@isarchitects.co.uk
www.linkedin.com/in/ianspringford

close

John Thompson
Director

Educated in Aberdeen, John worked in London, Berlin and Edinburgh prior to establishing the practice with Ian Springford in 2000.

Often working on projects where the property has remained occupied and trading, John has extensive experience leading multi-disciplinary design teams on a broad mix of sectors. He has led both the architectural design and technical delivery of many of our new build and refurbishment projects across the UK. As an ISA Director, John’s primary focus is on working with our clients to understand and successfully deliver their objectives.

john.thompson@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Kerry Nicol
Director

Educated at Scott Sutherland School of Architecture (RGU) in Aberdeen, Kerry joined ISA in 2001, becoming an Associate in 2006 and Director in 2015.

Kerry has experience across a broad range of sectors from hotel to commercial, but now focuses her attention and expertise on delivering large scale residential projects throughout the UK. Her rigorous approach to detailing and design results in significant repeat business, with notable commissions for complicated, multi-stakeholder sites in central London. Kerry is central to the ongoing development of the practice and implementation of ISA’s design management principles.

kerry.nicol@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Graham Currie
Director

Graham initially joined ISA in 2001 and was made a Director in 2015.

Graduating from Edinburgh College of Art, after spells in Australia and Sweden, Graham has a particular track record in converting existing buildings to modern hotel and leisure uses. He is heavily involved in the implementation and maintenance of the office QA and CAD systems and brings a positive and proactive approach to his projects.

graham.currie@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Fiona McNeill
Associate

After completing her diploma in Advanced Architectural Studies at Aberdeen, Fiona worked in a number of practices in UK, Paris and Berlin on a wide range of high profile, award-winning projects including the Scottish Parliament Building in Edinburgh; involved at every stage of the design process from inception to completion.

Fiona joined ISA in 2006 as an Associate and has since worked in key roles on a number of projects. She has developed an expertise in environmentally responsive design and has practical experience of building energy efficient buildings - and has been awarded the RIAS Accreditation in Sustainable Architecture in recognition of her specialism in this field.

fiona.mcneill@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Calum McLeod
Associate

Calum has been with ISA since September 2014.

He studied at Edinburgh College of Art - graduating in 1994 - before going on to work with several large firms in Edinburgh and Glasgow. His extensive experience has been gained across sectors including commercial, education, transport and civic buildings, and he has worked on a variety of projects from small scale refurbishments to large award-winning civic buildings. Calum has considerable experience working on master planning and urban design projects for public and private sector organisations; he is currently working on new hotel projects in London and Torquay, and residential feasibility studies in Edinburgh.

calum.mcleod@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Emma Franks
Head of Interior Design

A graduate of Glasgow School of Art, Emma is ISA's Head of Interior Design and has been with the practice since 2007.

Emma has worked in London and Amsterdam, as well as 10 years at a number of respected Edinburgh architectural and design practices. Her experience covers a broad range of projects ranging from retail and corporate design through to leisure and the hotel industry and includes significant input on the Scottish Parliament. She oversees and is responsible for the interior design aspects of all ISA projects. Emma has lectured at Glasgow School of Art.

emma.franks@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Anthony Hemmings
Associate

Anthony joined the practice in 2006 and became Associate in 2017.

He has worked on a wide range of projects including hotels, offices, community buildings, refurbishments and new builds, bringing enthusiasm for good design and a high level of technical expertise to his work. More recently Anthony's focus within ISA has been on residential projects and he has helped develop and expand the practice's residential portfolio, acting as the Senior Architect on Magdalene Drive, Brunswick Road, Stamford Hill and Great Junction Street.

anthony.hemmings@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Andrew Guthrie
Associate

Andrew joined the practice in 2004 after graduating from Edinburgh College of Art.

He has experience of a broad range of project types, including hotel, residential, office, theatre and healthcare, and has worked on a number of award-winning projects.

andrew.guthrie@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Christine Leeman
Senior Architect

After Graduating in 2005 from the Scott Sutherland School of Architecture in Aberdeen, Christine gained extensive experience working on a range of high profile award-winning arts and civic projects for a design-led architect practice in Edinburgh, and as an in-house architect for a large property and estates client. She joined ISA in 2016.

Christine has developed an expertise in conservation projects having worked on a number of listed buildings, and is currently working on a spa extension to an existing listed hotel in St Albans.

christine.leeman@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Shona Porteous
Architect

Shona joined the practice in 2013 after graduating from The University of Edinburgh in 2012. She passed her Part 3 examination in Professional Practice and Management with ISA, qualifying as an architect in 2016. She has experience across a broad range of project types including hotel, commercial, residential and theatre.

shona.porteous@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Bradley Slaughter
Architect

Bradley graduated from The University of Edinburgh in 2012. He joined ISA in 2014, after working in Edinburgh and London practices.

He passed his Part 3 Examination in Professional Practice and Management while at ISA, qualifying as an Architect in 2016. His experience is across a variety of project types including residential, hotel and mixed use developments.

bradley.slaughter@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Alejandro Chirino
Architect

alejandro.chirino@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Joanne Potter
Architect

joanne.potter@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Ryan Orr
Graduate Architect

ryan.orr@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Jessica Orr
Graduate Architect

jessica.orr@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Robert Paton
Architect

rob.paton@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Isabella Rosander
Graduate Architect

isabella.rosander@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Guerly Tabares
Architect

guerly.tabares@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Danielle Winton
Marketing Executive

danielle.winton@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Lewis Thomson
Graduate Architect

lewis.thomson@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Bob Rattray
Graduate Architect

bob.rattray@isarchitects.co.uk

close

Arthur Kirkwood
Graduate Architect

arthur.kirkwood@isarchitects.co.uk